Helpful Resources

DSC04532Click on photo to see it’s full beauty.

“DSM®, DSM-IV-TR®, and DSM-5® are registered trademarks of the American Psychiatric Association. The American Psychiatric Association is not affiliated with nor endorses these seminars, webinars, articles and PowerPoint slides.”

*************************************************************************************************************************

Please: None of the below mentioned organizations, institutions, associations, etc. endorses Kevin T. Blake, Ph.D., P.L.C., nor does Kevin T. Blake, P.h.D., P.L.C. endorse them.

**************************************************************************************************************************

Local Tucson Resources for Disabilities

DIRECT Center for Independence, Inc.: http://www.directilc.org/

 

AZ LINKS: http://www.azlinks.gov

Learning Disorders, Reading Disorder/Dyslexia, Mathematics Disorder/Dyscalculia

Learning Disabilities Association of America: www.ldanatl.org

 

LD Online: www.ldonline.org

 

National Center for Learning Disabilities: www.ld.org

 

International Dyslexia Association: www.interdys.org

 

British Dyslexia Association: www.bdadyslexia.org.uk

 

Yale Center for Dyslexia and Creativity: www.dyslexia.yale.edu

 

Yale Child Study Center: www.med.yale.edu/chldstdy/

 

Center for the Study of Learning, Georgetown University: www.csl.georgetown.edu/dyslexia

 

National Institute for Child Health and Development Research Program in Reading Development,  Reading Disorders, and Reading Instruction Initiated in 1965:

1. www.nichd.nih.gov/publications/pubs/upload/reading_centers.pdf 
2.www.ncld.org/ld-basics/ld-aamp-language/reading/the-nichd-research-program-in-reading-development-reading- disorders-and-reading-instruction
3. www.cdl.org/resource-library/pdf/nichd_reading_program.pdf

 

Mathematics and Science Cognition and Learning: Development and Disorders (MSCL) Program; Mathematical Learning Disabilities: www.nichd.nih.gov/about/org/crmc/cdb/prog_mscld/index.cfm

Dyscalculia Forum: www.dyscalculia.forum.com

 

What Works Clearing House U.S. Department of Education (Scientifically Based Curriculum for Children with Disabilities)

http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/

 

International Multisensory Structured Language Education Counsel (IMSLEC) (Trains Teachers in Multisensory Reading Curriculums for Dyslexics)

www.imslec.org/

 

LinguiSystems (Publisher): http://www.linguisystems.com/

 

Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorders

 

Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorders Children (and Adults) with Attention Deficit Disorders (CHADD): www.chadd.org

 

National Resource Center on ADHD (A Program of CHADD): www.help4adhd.org

 

National Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA): www.add.org

 

 

MTA Cooperative Group: National Institute of Mental Health Multimodal Treatment Study of ADHD: www.nimh.nih.gov/trials/practical/mta/the-multimodal-treatment-of-attention-deficit-hyperactivity-disorder-study-mta-questions-and-answers.shtml

 

ADDWAREHOUSE: www.addwarehouse.com

Linguistic Coding Difference (Difficulty Learning Foreign Languages)

Linguistic Coding Differences in Foreign Language Learners (Journal Article): http://www.springerlink.com/content/7mm3kv464g00l747/

Linguistc Coding Difference Diagnosis (Journal Ariticle): http://www.ldx.sagepub.com/content/24/9/530.short

Autism Spectrum Disorders/Nonverbal Learning Disorders/Asperger’s Disorder

NLD on the Web: www.nldontheweb.org

 

Waisman Center: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu/

 

Oasis at the MAAP website on Asperger’s Disorder: www.aspergersyndrome.org/

 

Autism Research Institute: www.autism.com

 

UC Davis M.I.N.D. Institute: www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/MINDInstitute

 

Yale Child Study Center: www.med.yale.edu/chldstdy/autism/aspergers.html

 

Autism Research Centre (Great Briton, Simon Baron-Cohen): www.autismresearchcentre.com

Tony Attwood, Ph.D.

Tony Attwood (Austrailian Asperger’s Disorder expert): www.tonyattwood.com.au/ 

 

Temple Grandin, Ph.D.

Temple Grandin, Ph.D. (Famous autistic professor and animal behavior expert): www.templegrandin.com/

 

Autism Society: www.autism-society.org

 

Autism Speaks: www.autismspeaks.org

 

Autism Treatment Network: www.autismspeaks.org/science/resources-programs/autism-treatment-network

 

National Autism Association: www.nationalautism.org

 

National Autism Center: www.nationalautismcenter.org

 

Organization for Autism Research: www.autismresearch.org

 

U.S. Autism and Asperger Association: www.usautism.org

 

Future Horizons (Publisher): http://www.fhautism.com/

The following techniques have been found to be the best treatments for those with the Kanner Type of Autism Spectrum Disorder int the following articles:

Maglione, M.A., et al (2012). Nonmedical Interventions for Children with ASD: Recommended Guidelines and further Research Needs. Pediatrics, 130 (Supplment 2), S169-S178, dou. 10.1542/peds.2012-0900O.

Odom, et al. (2010). Evaluation of Comprehensive Treatment Models for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders. Journal of Autism and Developemental Disorders, 40, 425-436. doi:10.1007/s10803-009-0825-1.

Some-Autism Partnerships: http://www.autismpartnership.com/

Center for Autism Related Disorders (CARD): http://www.centerforautism.com/

DIR Floortime: http://www.stanleygreenspan.com/

Denver: http://www.autismspeaks.org/what-autism/treatment/early-start-denver-model-esdm

Douglas Developmental Disabilities Center:  http://dddc.rutgers.edu/

LEAP:  http://www.kennedykrieger.org/special-education/educational-programs/leap-program

Lovaas Institute: http://www.lovaas.com/

May Institute: www.mayinstitute.org  

PCDI: http://www.pcdi.org/

PRT: http://www.autismprthelp.com/

SCERTS: http://www.scerts.com/

TEACCH: http://www.teacch.com/

SENSE Theater Project: http://vkc.mc.vanderbilt.edu/studyfinder/359

 

Service and Therapy Dogs for Those with Autism Spectrum Disorder and/or AD/HD

 

4 Paws For Ability: http://www.4pawsforability.org/autismdogs.html

 

Autism Service Dogs of America: http://www.autismservicedogsofamerica.com/

 

International Association of Service Dog Partners: www.iaadp.org

 

Wilderwood  Service Dogs for Autism: www.wilerwood.org

Northstar Foundation/Service Dogs for Autism: www.northstardogs.com/autism.shtml

 

Pet Partners (formerly Delta Society): http://www.petpartners.org/

 

William’s Syndrome

 

William’s Syndrome Association: www.william-syndrome.org

 

William’s Syndrome Foundation- US: http://www.wschanginglives.org/

 

William’s Syndrome Foundation- UK: http://www.williams-syndrome.org.uk/   

 

William’s Syndrome National Institutes of Health: http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/williams/williams.htm

Turner Syndrome

 

Turner Syndrome Society of the United States: http://www.turnersyndrome.org/

 

Turner Syndrome Foundation: www.turnersyndromefoundation.org/

 

Reading Epilepsy

Article

http://www.jkscience.org/archive/volume102/Research%20Letter/reading%20epilepsy.pdf

Article Abstract

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10213537

Prader Willi Association

 

http://www.pwausa.org/

Fragile X Foundation

 

www.fragilex.org/

American Association for Klinefelters Syndrome Information and Support

 

http://www.aaksis.org/

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)

 

http://www.rarediseases.org/ 

Genetics Home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions (National Institute of Health)

 

http://ghr.nlm.gov/

 Speech and Hearing, Central Auditory Processing Disorder, and Hyperacusis

 

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders: http://www.nidcdinfo@nidcd.nih.gov

American Speech-Language Hearing Association: www.professional.asha.org

American Academy of Audiology: www.audiology.org

 

American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS): www.entnet.org

 

National Coalition for Auditory Processing Disorders: http://www.nacpd.org

 

The Hyperacusis Network: http://www.dmalcore@mail.wisc.net

 

Hyperacusis Research: http://www.hyperacusisresearch.org

 

Adult Loss of Hearing Association: http://alohaaz.org/

 

The University of AZ Living Well With Hearing Loss: http://lwhl.arizona.edu/

 

“Faceblindness”, Developmental Prosopagnosia

 

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke: www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/prosopagnosia/Prosopagnosia.htm

 

Propagnosia Research Centers at Harvard and University College London: www.faceblind.org

Face Blind!: www.choiser.com/faceblind/

 

 

Synesthesia (“Sensory Mixing”)

American Synesthesia Association: http://synesthesia.info/index.html 

 

UK Synaesthesia Association:  www.uksynaesthesia.com/

 

Synesthesia Down Under (Austrailian Synesthesia Association): http//synesthesia.com.au/wp/

 

Belgian Synesthesia Association: http://www.enotes.com/topic/Belgian_Synesthesia_Association

 

Mixed Signals (Synesthesia On-Line): http://http://www.mixsig.net/

 

Synesthesia Resource Center: www.bluecatsandchartreusekittens.com/Blue_Cats_and_Chartreuse_Kittens_Rel.html 

 

Shyness, Social Anxiety, Social Phobia

Phillip Zimbardo’s Clinic at Stanford:

Shyness.com

1. www.shyness.com  

2. www.shynessinstitute.com

Anxiety Disorder and Deprssion Association of America: www.adaa.org

 

Beck Institute: http://www.beckinstitute.org/

Helpful Places for People with Disabilities in Schools and the Workplace

 

Association for Persons in Supported Employment (APSE) (Onsite Job Coaches): www.apse.org

 

Job Accommodations Network: www.askjan.org

 

SquaresWhite

National Disability Rights Network (How to find Disability Law Centers in Your State): www.ndrn.org

 

The International Campbell Collaboration: www.campbellcollaboration.org/frallbrary.html

 

The Promising Practices Network: www.promisingpractices.net

 

Khan Academy: http://www.khanacademy.org

Places for Recorded Books for the Print Disabled

Bookshare: http://www.bookshare.org/

 

Learning Ally: http://www.learningally.org/

Places to Check Out Complimentary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) Techniques

 

National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine (National Institutes of Health): www.nccam.nih.gov

FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition: Dietary Supplements:

www.fda.gov/food/dietarysupplements/default.htm

NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS):

http://ods.od.nih.gov/

FDA Food and Drug Scams Website:

www.fda.gov/healthfraud

FDA Consumer Updates:

www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/default.htm

FDA Site to Report Side Effects: www.fda.gov/medwatch

FDA Place to Learn If Suppliment Has Undeclared Prescription Medications,or Steroids: http://www.taintedproducts@fda.hhs.gov

Medication/Suppliment Interactions (100+ Commonly Used Supplements). “Natural Health section” on Consumer Reports website: www.consumerreports.org/health/

Cochrane Collaboration: www.cochrane.org

Quackwatch: www.quackwatch.com

Pharmacopeia:: http://www.usp.org/

Information on Chimpanzees and Bonobos

Goodall Institute (Chimpanzes): http://http://www.janegoodall.org/chimp-central-home

Iowa Primate Learning Sanctuary (Bonobos-Teco the Autistic Bonobo): http://www.iowaprimatelearning.org/

Helpful Professionals

American Psychiatric Association: www.apa@psych.org

American Psychological Association: www.apa.org

Amerian Association of Marriage and Family Therapists: www.aamft.org

National Board of Certified Counselors: www.nbcc@nbcc.org

National Association of Social Workers: www.naswdc.org

Behavioral Neurologist/Neuropsychiatrists and/or Neuro-Ophthamologist:

 

Speech Language Pathologist-American Speech-Language Hearing Association: www.professional.asha.org

AD/HD Coaches: http://www.nancyratey.com 

Professional Organizers: www.napo.net

American Occupational Therapy Association: www.atoa.org.

Resources